Saturday, April 18, 2009

Super Six

The Campus Activities Council is moving to prevent the formation of a group who has come to be known as "The Super 6" in homecoming 2009.

The group is a merger of several different fraternities and sororities including Phi Gamma Delta, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Phi Delta Theta, Delta Gamma, Kappa Alpha Theta and Pi Beta Phi.

The Greek bodies originally were teaming up as one group to enter homecoming where they boycott building a float and using the money that would be spent on the float to host a philanthropy.

"It is nothing against CAC or anything like that," said Dan McCarthy, president of Phi Delta Theta. "We just want to use the money to benefit people rather than building a float that you just throw away the next day after months of work."

Sunday, April 12, 2009

11th Annual Table Carving

This past Monday, April 6 leaders from across campus gathered in the Clarke-Anderson room of the Memorial Union in both celebration of OU leadership and in commemoration of the 80th anniversary of the Oklahoma Memorial Union.

This meeting kicked off a week long process to memorialize the names of the many leaders on OU's campus by carving them into a wooden table that will be placed in the Clarke-Anderson wing of the Union.

Stemming from a tradition that was started in 1999, now invites the presidents, chairs and captains of many campus organizations and athletic teams to "make their mark" on the university.

"When I first came to be President here at the University of Oklahoma most students didn't even know the chant. Since then I have started the tradition a singing the chant at all university events. Now we look on to continue this tradition as well as the countless others that make OU stand apart," said President David L. Boren.

And the end of the week the table will be stained and varnished to preserved the table for the next century. Over the next 100 years, it is planned for the room to be filled with these annual leadership tables.

Friday, April 3, 2009

President Trophy Winners

Friday April 3, in the Mary and Howard Lester Wing of the Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art, the annual Presidents Trophy awards were given out among the 13 fraternity, 14 sorority and 7 housing center applicants.

These are awards are given out to commemorate the hard work of each group, as well as gives bragging rites especially for the Greek houses.

Sooner Housing won overall in the University Housing group; the Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity won overall in the fraternity division; and the Alpha Gamma Delta sorority won overall in the sorority division.

"When I heard that AGD won I looked over to see what the Theta's reaction was. I was actually surprised: I thought they would be mad that they didn't win, but they seemed really happy to hear that the AGDs won," said Tom Hanks, marketing and communications senior.

Additional recognition awards were given out to group of each division in the areas of Academics, Volunteerism, Multicultural and Campus Activities.

Below: The President's Trophy is presented to the most outstanding Housing Center, Fraternity and Sorority each year.